General information about Collegium Medicum

Ludwik Rydygier Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz
Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń 

ul. Jagiellońska 13-15
85-067 Bydgoszcz
Tel. +48 52 5853306
Fax +48 52 5853692

Collegium Medicum was previously known as the Ludwik Rydygier Medical University, which was established by the Seym (the lower chamber of the Polish parliament) on 21st July 1984. In October of the same year, the Rector, Prof. dr hab. Jan Domaniewski, inaugurated the youngest medical university in Poland.

In 2004, the Medical University in Bydgoszcz was incorporated into the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń and renamed as the Ludwik Rydygier Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz. Since then, it has been providing academic education as part of NCU.

Currently, Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz provides education in the Polish language in 18 fields of study offered by three faculties:

CM buildingFaculty of Medicine

  • biomedical engineering
  • biotechnology
  • dispensing optics and optometry
  • medicine
  • optometry

CM pharmacyFaculty of Pharmacy

  • cosmetology
  • laboratory medicine
  • pharmacy

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • CM hospital photoaudiophonology
  • elder care management
  • electroradiology
  • emergency medical science
  • midwifery
  • nursing
  • nutrition science
  • occupational therapy
  • physiotherapy
  • public health

The programmes are offered at the following levels:

  • Bachelor’s Degree
  • Master’s Degree
  • Doctoral studies 

Moreover, higher education programmes in the fields of medicine, nursing, physiotherapy and laboratory medicine are also offered in the English language. For more details, see Studies in English >>

Collegium Medicum currently holds ten accreditations:

  • 7 accreditations issued by the Polish Accreditation Committee (PKA): biotechnology, laboratory medicine, pharmacy, physiotherapy, medicine, nursing, public health;
  • 2 accreditations issued by the National Accreditation Commission for Nursing and Midwifery Education (KRASzPiP): midwifery, nursing;
  • 1 accreditation issued by the Polish Ministry of Health: specialisation in retail pharmacy.

Two teaching hospitals function at Collegium Medicum as the institutional base for education, scientific research and highly specialised diagnostic, medical and rehabilitation services:

  • the Antoni Jurasz University Hospital No. 1 in Bydgoszcz
  • the Jan Biziel University Hospital No. 2 in Bydgoszcz

The organisational units of Collegium Medicum also collaborate with:

  • the Franciszek Łukaszczyk Oncology Centre in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Jerzy Popiełuszko Hospice in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Kuyavian-Pomeranian Pulmonology Centre in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Tadeusz Borowicz Provincial Infectious Diseases Hospital in Bydgoszcz,
  • the Ludwik Rydygier Provincial Polyclinic Hospital in Toruń,
  • the Provincial Children’s Hospital in Toruń,
  • the 10th Military Research Hospital and Polyclinic in Bydgoszcz.

CM students house photo
New Student's House